News

Hang 10: Crisis Leadership for Christians is the title of a 10-minute webcast that begins this coming Monday, April 6.

“We’ll keep it fast and focused,” promises Dr. Owen Phelps, director of the Yeshua Institute and host of the webcast.

It will air daily, Monday through Friday, at 1 p.m. CDT (2 p.m. EDT, noon MDT and 11 a.m. PDT).

Link coming Friday

A link to register for the webcast will be published in a special issue of The Catholic Leader and on social media this Friday, April 3.

“We hope you watch for it and share it as widely as possible,” Phelps said.

“Remember, our perspective is that leadership is an influence process, and since all of us try to influence others from time to time, all of us are leaders some of the time,” he added. “Leadership is much more about relationships than structure, so when structures and routines are breaking down, focusing on our relationships is critical.”

Diversity a challenge

Dr. Phelps said the Covid-19 crisis presents a special challenge because it is demanding so many different, even contradictory things from leaders.

“Some leaders are dealing with layoffs, while others are struggling to increase staffing. Some are trying to learn how to coordinate staffs working from home, while others are laboring to get sufficient people to show up,” he explained.

“Some small business owners are trying to stay afloat while their businesses are closed; others are trying to cope with increased demand for their services. For some the challenge is how to handle a house full of rambunctious children while for others it’s how to cope with being completely isolated.

“We plan to address the wide range of challenges facing people today – although with just 10 minutes per episode I promise you we won’t cover all of them the first day,” he admitted.

Questions welcome

“That’s why we welcome questions,” Phelps added. “If people let us know what’s bothering them, we’ll try to help.”

People can address their questions to him by email at Here4U@YeshuaLeader.com.

Phelps said the focus of the program will be practical, not devotional. “There are many great sources of devotional material in publications and on the web. Our expertise is in crisis leadership. We’ll begin each webcast with a short prayer to acknowledge that we’re all on the same page as Christian leaders, but we’ll stick to what we know best – crisis leadership,” he explained.

Be sure to watch for the Hang 10 link in a special edition of The Catholic Leader on Friday, April 3.

Bookmark and Share